Returned Check Policy
In accordance with the Arkansas Hot Check Law, the NPCC Business Office is authorized to assess a collection fee of $25.00 for each item returned.
Effective November 1, 2006, if a check is returned by the bank, the Business Office sends written notification within three (3) working days to the check address or the student's permanent address. The notice contains complete information on the check and service charge, total balance due, accepted forms of payment, the payment deadline, and contact information.
Payment for returned checks and service charges are received at the cashier's window in the Business Office. Cash, cashier's checks, and money orders are the accepted forms of payment. Returned checks that are left unpaid after 10 days are subject to the Arkansas Hot Check Law and turned over to the Garland County Prosecuting Attorney's Office for collection. Once a check is turned over, payment must be made at the Prosecuting Attorney's Office.
Unpaid returned checks will result in a transcript and/or diploma hold until the total balance due (returned check and hot check fee) is paid.
Students may arrange a payment plan online. If you have financial aid in process, make sure you have a signed award letter or an approved charge authorization or you will be dropped from classes.
How Withdrawal Affects Federal Financial Aid
Withdrawal from classes prior to completion of 60 percent of the semester or dropping credit hours below full time (twelve credit hours) may result in the student becoming liable to the U. S. Department of Education or NPCC for repayment of Title IV funds.
In cases where the student drops courses and has already received full payment of financial aid awards from federal sources, the student must repay any cash disbursement which is determined by the college to be an overpayment.
Some courses have special fees and these must be paid in full during registration. Fees for supplies and materials may be an additional cost for courses such as science laboratories or specialized art courses, such as pottery or photography. Other courses, such as music classes, which require individual instruction, also have fees.
Transcripts will not be issued for students who fail to meet or make arrangements to fulfill financial obligations. (See the section on Withdrawing in Academic Information.)
Tuition Refunds And How Adding/Dropping Courses Affects Your Costs
Current students who are on federal financial aid who wish to withdraw after the semester has started, will need to see Lisa Hopper.
No refunds of student tuition/fees will be made unless a student OFFICIALLY withdraws from classes. Stopping class attendance or failure to attend classes does not constitute an official drop/withdrawal. ALL refunds are calculated from the start date of the semester, not the start date of the class, and are based on week days not class days.
Refunds are handled by the Business Office according to the following schedules:
|Refund Schedule for Fall, Spring, or Summer:|
|Dates||Percentage of Refund||Types Refunded|
|Prior to First Day of Semester:||100%||100% of tuition and all fees, excluding registration fee. When you enroll the registration fee will be due, even if you do not attend classes.|
|Days One to Five of Semester:||100%||100% of tuition, technology, infrastructure, and on-line fees only|
|Days Six to Ten of Semester:||50%||50% of tuition, technology, infrastructure, and on-line fees only|
|No refunds after day ten of semester.|
|Exceptional circumstances by which a refund may be calculated after the refund period are limited to: death of a student, death of immediate family member with documentation, unanticipated serious illness of the student with documentation, or institutional error.|
|Refund Policy Revised 1/2/2012|
Tuition Waiver Policy
Persons 60 years of age and older may take college courses tuition-free when enrolling for credit. This waiver is non-transferrable.
Law Enforcement Waiver
This waiver is available to any full time employed sworn law enforcement officer and covers tuition (no fees) for on-campus courses, online courses, and independent study courses that are required for the officer?s degree program. This waiver is non-transferrable.
Injured/Fatally Wounded Police and Firefighter Waiver
Families of policemen and firemen who suffered fatal injuries or became permanently and totally disabled due to performance of a hazardous duty, may attend college credit courses tuition free. This waiver is non-transferrable.
Public School Employee Waiver
Full-time public and private school district faculty and staff who live within commuting distance of the College may have tuition for up to one on-campus 4 credit hour course per semester, excluding all fees. This waiver is non-transferrable.
Contact the Financial Aid Office for more information at 501-760-4237.